MARgINAlia

A plume with a hue

Archive for the day “June 9, 2022”

An update on May’s Asian Readathon

Photo by Ylanite Koppens on Pexels.com

A week into May, I came across the Asian Readathon challenge hosted each year by withcindy: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z617Xo1Pjss

Despite starting late, I managed to complete the challenge, although I did inadvertently select two authors from Japan when I really should have ensured that each author was from a different country – a slightly annoying oversight!

Here are the prompts and my choices.

1. A book written by an Asian author: Things We Left Unsaid by Zoya Pirzad (Iran/Armenia)

2. A book featuring an Asian female/older woman: Dear Friend, From My Life, I Write to You in Your Life by Yiyun Li (China)

3. A book by an Asian author that has a universe you would want to experience OR that is totally different to yours: Mornings in Jenin by Susan Abulhawa (Palestine)

4. A book by an Asian author that has a cover worthy of googly eyes: The Woman in the Purple Skirt by Natsuko Imamura (Japan)

5. A book by an Asian author that has a high rating or was highly recommended by someone: How Do You Live? by Genzaburo Yoshino (Japan)

I did start to listen to The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen (Vietnam) but found it hard to concentrate on. I’ve since picked up the paperback in a charity shop so will come back to it for a listen and readalong.

I enjoyed finding books to match the prompts and having this focus for the month. As I often read Japanese and Middle Eastern literature, it wasn’t too much of a diversion from my usual selections.

Post Navigation