MARgINAlia

A plume with a hue

Archive for the day “February 15, 2022”

Review of my winter wonder list

A view down the Thames to Tower Bridge from the Millennium Bridge

Towards the end of November last year, I began considering my intentions for the winter season. You can read more about them here. Now that winter is drawing to a close, it is time to review how these went.

Read Wintering by Katherine May. This is one of those books that keeps popping up all over the place and so I saved it to read at the start of this season. It helped me to think differently about my least favourite season and the benefits of ‘wintering’ in our lives. Instead of yearning for warm days and feeling dissatisfied with cold, dark mornings and evenings, I changed my perspective and embraced all that winter has to offer: frosty, sunny mornings and cosy, snug, indoor evenings. As May points out:

Once we stop wishing it were summer, winter can be a glorious season when the world takes on a sparse beauty, and even the pavements sparkle. It’s a time for reflection and recuperation, for slow replenishment, for putting your house in order.

Light candles and snuggle in a blanket. I’ve savoured doing this and it has made the cold evenings far more cosy and enjoyable.

Attempt to knit the Evermore sweater. I had my reservations about doing this as there was just too much that was unfamiliar (US instructions, circular needles, top-down pattern, i-cord bind off) but I took it slowly, started and restarted when I realised I was way out with the tension, and I have just one sleeve left to complete so it should be finished by the end of the month. It’s turned out far easier than I anticipated and I’m now planning on knitting another one because I’ve enjoyed doing this so much.

Knit a chunky hat. I’ve actually knitted three: one for me and one for each of my daughters, and even had just enough wool left over for a headband.

Wrap up warm and go for walks. I had planned on walking more in the Surrey countryside but apart from one visit, this hasn’t happened. I have, however, been out most days walking the dog in our large local park.

Host a Christmas or New Year celebration. It seems a long time ago now but we hosted Christmas day at ours. It was fairly low key as it was touch-and-go with the current situation but we had a relaxing and fun day of Christmas lunch, followed by games.

Visit London. I have really missed London theatres over the past couple of years so have made the most of them this winter. My daughter and I had tickets to see Mamma Mia for our Christmas trip but half and hour before we were due to leave to catch the train, I had an email saying that due to covid, the show was cancelled. Not to be deterred, I quickly got online and booked tickets for Pretty Woman instead – and our trip was saved.

We also went to see 2.22: A Ghost Story, which was excellent, and followed it with tapas at our favourite Spanish restaurant.

Last Friday, I met my other daughter and my four-week-old grandson at Liverpool Street and we had a leisurely lunch together at The Folly. As I was already in London, I decided to go to the theatre in the evening and booked a ticket for Witness for the Prosecution, which was taking place at County Hall, the headquarters of the former London County Council/Greater London Council. I walked from the City down to St Pauls, across the Millennium Bridge to the Tate Modern and along the Southbank, past the National Theatre, Festival Hall, and the London Eye. The play was performed in: ‘The octagonal Council Chamber [which] sits at the centre of County Hall, and provided seating for over 200 council members and four galleries overlooking the Chamber for the public and members of the press.’ It was a unique setting for this play as it felt as though we were in a courtroom.

Choose a word for the year. After much deliberation, which you can read about here, I chose the word nourish.

Attend a yoga workshop. In the heart of the beautiful Surrey countryside, there is a vineyard called Denbies, where you can walk, have a tour, visit the cafe or restaurant, or stay in their hotel. There is also a yoga studio on site, which was the perfect location for an afternoon workshop of vinyasa flow, yin and yoga nidra.

Begin practising ‘Living Your Yoga’. This is a book by Judith Hanson Lasater, from which I have put together a programme of working through a chapter more or less each week in an attempt to integrate the practices of yoga into all aspects of my life.

Take part in Everything Art’s ‘Care December’ offering. I did most of the sessions on this programme and I’m pleased to say it managed to get my dormant creative juices flowing again.

Do something spontaneous. All the theatre tickets were pretty much booked spontaneously as I’ve been loathe to book anything too far in advance because of the risk of them being cancelled. We booked 2.22: A Ghost Story the day before we went. I also decided to try out a new ballroom and Latin dance venue, and have been attending regularly since. On a whim, I signed up to Helen Colebrook’s ‘Journal with Purpose’ and am enjoying making my journalling more creative.

Setting these intentions for winter has certainly made this time of year more purposeful and enjoyment. Now it is time to start thinking about my spring list!

Post Navigation