MARgINAlia

A plume with a hue

Archive for the day “April 30, 2021”

A-Z of books: Author I’ve read the most

Photo by Ricardo Esquivel on Pexels.com

I saw this list of questions about books, one for every letter of the alphabet, and thought it looked interesting. I’m not quite sure where it originated from, but this is where I first discovered it.

A to Z of Books

As a child, the author I read the most was Enid Blyton. I devoured the Famous Five, the Secret Seven, Mallory Towers, St Clare’s, and the Adventure series. Although my obsession was discouraged by my teachers because she was not considered a ‘good’ writer – criminal to think a teacher would deter a child from reading! – I completely ignored this, reading and rereading them. I’ve just discovered that Enid Blyton began writing in 1920 when she moved to Chessington, Surrey, which is around 5 miles from where I live.

As an adult, I’ve read more novels by Anne Tyler than any other author. I previously wrote about my love of her work here: https://marginalia14.wordpress.com/2021/02/16/

For me, Anne Tyler perfectly captures the joy of reading:

I read so I can live more than one life in more than one place.

Post Navigation